january book recommendations!

Hey daydreamers! How has everyone been this week? I meant to get this post up last week, and then life happened… lol. School and dance are back in full swing, so back to balancing blogging with all that!

Recently I put up a survey asking for your thoughts about the blog and general and also for some post ideas, and a bunch of you guys requested more book-related posts, so here we are! I haven’t done one of these in years, plus I’ve been getting back into reading recently. So I’m super excited for this one! I’ll be sharing some books I’ve loved that I recommend for y’all to read ASAP, so let’s get right into it!

100 days of sunlight by abbie emmons

Ahh you guys, I love this book so much! The first time I read it, I read it in one sitting – it’s super engaging and makes you want to finish it right away! It’s such an adorable book full of sunshine and waffles and ukeleles and an adorable romance… Definitely my comfort book that I go back and read again all the time. (Also, I had no idea there was a Christmas sequel to this book until just now…And now I have to wait until next Christmas to read it.)

When 16-year-old poetry blogger Tessa Dickinson is involved in a car accident and loses her eyesight for 100 days, she feels like her whole world has been turned upside-down.

Terrified that her vision might never return, Tessa feels like she has nothing left to be happy about. But when her grandparents place an ad in the local newspaper looking for a typist to help Tessa continue writing and blogging, an unlikely answer knocks at their door: Weston Ludovico, a boy her age with bright eyes, an optimistic smile…and no legs.

Knowing how angry and afraid Tessa is feeling, Weston thinks he can help her. But he has one condition — no one can tell Tessa about his disability. And because she can’t see him, she treats him with contempt: screaming at him to get out of her house and never come back. But for Weston, it’s the most amazing feeling: to be treated like a normal person, not just a sob story. So he comes back. Again and again and again.

Tessa spurns Weston’s “obnoxious optimism”, convinced that he has no idea what she’s going through. But Weston knows exactly how she feels and reaches into her darkness to show her that there is more than one way to experience the world. As Tessa grows closer to Weston, she finds it harder and harder to imagine life without him — and Weston can’t imagine life without her. But he still hasn’t told her the truth, and when Tessa’s sight returns he’ll have to make the hardest decision of his life: vanish from Tessa’s world…or overcome his fear of being seen. (Book synopsis from Amazon)

charlie thorne and the last equation by stuart gibbs

Haven’t read this book in a while but I really enjoyed it! It’s a super complex and twisty novel that’s super exciting and fast-paced! A great middle-grade mystery that’ll definitely keep you on the edge of your seat. (It’s actually a trilogy, but I haven’t read the other two books quite yet.)

Charlie Thorne is a genius.
Charlie Thorne is a thief.
Charlie Thorne isn’t old enough to drive.

And now it’s up to her to save the world…

Decades ago, Albert Einstein devised an equation that could benefit all life on earth—or destroy it. Fearing what would happen if the equation fell into the wrong hands, he hid it.

But now, a diabolical group known as the Furies are closing in on its location. In desperation, a team of CIA agents drags Charlie into the hunt, needing her brilliance to find it first—even though this means placing her life in grave danger.

In a breakneck adventure that spans the globe, Charlie must crack a complex code created by Einstein himself, struggle to survive in a world where no one can be trusted, and fight to keep the last equation safe once and for all. (Synopsis from Amazon)

the enola holmes series by nancy springer

Did you know the Netflix movie is actually a really good book series? I love, love love this series! There are so many books in it, which are great if you’re looking for something to read! Enola is an amazing main character, and the mysteries are always super interesting and exciting as Enola figures them out.

Meet Enola Holmes, teenage girl turned detective and the younger sister to Sherlock Holmes.

When Enola Holmes, sister to the detective Sherlock Holmes, discovers her mother has disappeared, she quickly embarks on a journey to London in search of her. But nothing can prepare her for what awaits. Because when she arrives, she finds herself involved in the kidnapping of a young marquess, fleeing murderous villains, and trying to elude her shrewd older brothers—all while attempting to piece together clues to her mother’s strange disappearance. Amid all the mayhem, will Enola be able to decode the necessary clues and find her mother? (Synopsis from Amazon)

absolutely truly by heather vogel frederick

This was such a cozy, cute book set in a bookstore in the winter! I also love the Mother-Daughter Book Club series by the same author (I would totally recommend it as well, I got the books from the library so I don’t have a picture though).

An unsent letter in a first edition copy of Charlotte’s Web leads to a hunt for treasure in this heartwarming middle-grade mystery from the author of The Mother-Daughter Book Club.

Now that Truly Lovejoy’s father has been injured by an IED in Afghanistan and is having trouble finding work back home, the family moves from Texas to tiny Pumpkin Falls, New Hampshire, to take over Lovejoy’s Books, a struggling bookstore that’s been in the family for one hundred years.

With two older brothers and two younger sisters clamoring for attention, her mother back in school, and every one up to their eyebrows trying to keep Lovejoy’s Books afloat, Truly feels more overlooked than usual. So she pours herself into uncovering the mystery of an undelivered letter she finds stuck in a valuable autographed first edition of Charlotte’s Web, which subsequently goes missing from the bookshop. What’s inside the envelope leads Truly and her new Pumpkin Falls friends on a madcap treasure hunt around town, chasing clues that could spell danger. (Synopsis from Amazon)

kisses from katie by Katie davis majors

Kisses from Katie is up there with my top favorite books ever! Y’all, Katie’s story is absolutely life-changing. The first time I read it, I could not put it down, and it definitely impacted me! It made me so much more grateful for the things I’ve been blessed with and opened my eyes to a lot of important issues Christians should help with that I wasn’t aware of. Katie’s faith will definitely encourage yours, and I would totally recommend you read this book!

The New York Times bestselling account of a courageous eighteen-year-old from Nashville who gave up every comfort and convenience to become the adoptive mother to thirteen girls in Uganda.

What would cause an eighteen-year-old senior class president and homecoming queen from Nashville, Tennessee, to disobey and disappoint her parents by forgoing college, break her little brother’s heart, lose all but a handful of her friends (because they think she has gone off the deep end), and break up with the love of her life, all so she could move to Uganda, where she knew only one person and didn’t even speak the language? A passion to follow Jesus. 

Katie Davis Majors left over Christmas break of her senior year for a short mission trip to Uganda and her life was turned completely inside out. She found herself so moved by the people of Uganda and the needs she saw that she knew her calling was to return and care for them. Katie, a charismatic and articulate young woman, adopted thirteen children in Uganda and has established a ministry, Amazima, that feeds and sends hundreds more to school while teaching them the Word of Jesus Christ.

Kisses from Katie invites readers on a journey of radical love down the red dirt roads of Uganda. You’ll laugh and cry with Katie as she follows Jesus into the impossible and finds joy and beauty beneath the dust. Katie and her children delight in saying yes to the people God places in front of them and challenge readers to do the same, changing the world one person at a time. (Synopsis from Amazon)

the shadow and bone trilogy by leigh bardugo

This series wasn’t an absolute favorite, but it was definitely a really immersive read that explores a twisty, exciting plot in a super rich fantasy world! After watching the Netflix show, I wanted to read the books too. I honestly enjoyed the show a little more, but I would still recommend them for a reader who loves fantasy, magic, and dark, exciting plots!

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Follow Alina Starkov through Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising as she discovers her dormant powers and is swept up in a world of luxury and illusion. As Alina struggles to fit into her new life, a threat to the kingdom of Ravka grows―one that will test old alliances and challenge the very limits of magic, one that will forge a leader from a frightened girl.


I hope y’all enjoyed this post! Maybe you found something new to read, or we found out that we have some favorite books in common! Let me know your thoughts on if you read any of these in the comments, or which of these you can’t wait to read! Also, let me know any books you think I should read! See y’all soon, and have a great week!

THIS WEEK’S SHOUTOUT GOES TO AJ from Happy Bees!

27 thoughts on “january book recommendations!

  1. Awesome list! I love Kisses from Katie! A book that I just read that was really good (and funny), was Me, Myself, and Bob. It’s about Phil Vischer, the creator of VeggieTales, and I really enjoyed reading it.
    -Haley

    Like

  2. I absolutely loved reading this post! The Enola Holmes Series is one of my favorites too! Also Kisses From Katie sounds like such an inspiring and amazing read. I’m also adding 100 Days of Sunlight to my TBR. It sounds super good too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oof, I DNFed Shadow and Bone last year (but hopefully I’ll go back to it sometime because I want to watch the show haha). Have you read Six of Crows? It’s by the same author and I really enjoyed it! 😌

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really good recommendations I wanna try 100 days of sunlight it’s quite interesting plus. Enola holmes series, I’ve heard about this one this has been on my TBR list. Hey plus I’ve nominated you for eximius award check out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment